The Fortitude Chronicle: A Weekly Digest of Athletic Determination

The Fortitude Chronicle: A Weekly Digest of Athletic Determination

Dear Fortitude family,

Welcome back to my midweek motivation! Each day and week brings its own set of experiences and inspirations, compelling me to share my thoughts with all of you.

"If you only do what you can do then you'll never be more than you are now."

This quote hits home for me. For a significant part of my life, I shied away from challenges. I consistently set myself up for easy wins, seeking that fleeting feeling of superiority. Whenever confronted with something new or challenging, I would sidestep it, creating convenient excuses. This approach left me with an unrelenting sense of emptiness and unfulfillment. Fortunately, I had the privilege of being mentored by some incredible individuals who helped me break out of my comfort zone and embrace discomfort. Now, even in moments of failure, I feel a deeper sense of satisfaction than I ever felt during my past successes. I've realized it's not just about the end goal, but what I'm pursuing and who I'm becoming in the process. Every one of us has a comfort zone - a set of routines, habits, and actions we're familiar with. It's cozy, predictable, and safe. But here's the thing: that's not where growth happens.

As athletes. If we stuck to what we were good at, we'd plateau. The weightlifter wouldn't add an extra kilo to their bar. The sprinter wouldn't shave off that extra second from their 100m dash. The football and basketball player would never add the extra inch to their vertical. We'd stagnate. Why? Because we didn't push past our perceived limits.

But you might think, "I'm not a professional, so why does this apply to me?" Here's why: Life, like sports, is about progression.

The Myth of Comfort

Comfort isn't inherently bad. It can be a sign that we've mastered certain areas of our lives. But when comfort becomes a ceiling, it holds us back. Our mental muscles, no different than our physical ones, need regular challenges to grow.

You've probably heard stories of MLB pitchers looking to add a new pitch to their arsenal. A lot of them try and give up fairly quickly. They're afraid of the unknown, the potential failure, or the judgement from others if they add something new and it fails. So they remain in their bubble, never realizing what’s outside of it. The pitchers who master that extra pitch flourish, reaching levels they never thought possible.

Growing Beyond the Now

To be elite-minded, whether in sports or in life, is to recognize the power of progression. Here's how you can start:

  1. Embrace the Unfamiliar: This could be as simple as finding something that inherently is difficult or makes your heart beat faster the moment you start thinking about it. Discover what that is and start doing it. The point is to seek out experiences that aren't in your regular playbook.

  2. Set Micro-Challenges: Big goals can feel overwhelming or too far out to attain. Break them down. Find a way to set challenges that allow you to do one more than the previous day. Allow “one more” to compound over 30, 60, 90 days and witness your growth.

  3. Surround Yourself with Growth-Minded Individuals: The company we keep can either drag us down or lift us up. Engage with people who challenge you, who question the status quo, and who aren't afraid to push boundaries. I have no time for average people, neither should you.

  4. Celebrate Small Wins: Every step outside of your comfort zone is a victory, no matter how tiny. It's these small steps that compound over time, leading to transformation.

  5. Reframe Failure: Every elite athlete knows that failure isn't the end; it's feedback. Instead of seeing a setback as a defeat, view it as a lesson. What can you learn from it? How can you adjust and move forward?

Final Thoughts

"If you only do what you can do then you'll never be more than you are now."

Those words should be a constant reminder that there's always room to grow, always an opportunity to push beyond our current boundaries. Embracing discomfort isn’t about being reckless, but about purposefully expanding our horizons.

So, here's my challenge to you: do one thing today that's outside of your comfort zone. It doesn't have to be monumental. Just one thing. Because it's those daily acts of courage that define the trajectory of our lives. Remember, growth never comes from comfort. So, are you ready to grow?

Warm regards,

Colin Jonov CEO & Founder, Athletic Fortitude