The Fortitude Chronicle: A Weekly Digest of Athletic Determination

Why High Achievers Feel Misunderstood: The Lonely Stage

The Fortitude Chronicle: A Weekly Digest of Athletic Determination

Welcome to The Fortitude Chronicle, a weekly newsletter devoted to helping you enhance mental fortitude and conquer life's challenges.

In this week's edition, we discuss the lonely stage of high achievers.

We always invite our readers to share their own unique perspectives. If you're inspired and wish to contribute your own experiences or reflections, we encourage you to reach out. The opportunity to ghost write and bring fresh insights to our community is always open.

The Athletic Fortitude Show

Monday’s Mindset

One Mindset

Why High Achievers Feel Misunderstood: The Lonely Stage

I'm in the thick of it now. The Lonely Stage. It's not just a phase; it's a crucible where my ambitions and reality collide, forging something new and often uncomfortable within me.

Like many high achievers before me, I'm experiencing the isolation that comes with pursuing goals others may not understand or support. It's a peculiar kind of loneliness—one that exists even when I'm surrounded by people. I'm not just alone; I'm misunderstood.

This stage isn't glamorous. It's not the montage in a movie where the hero overcomes obstacles in a three-minute sequence set to inspiring music. No, this is the gritty, day-to-day grind that can last for years. It's waking up each day, recommitting to my vision, even when no one else sees it.

I'm learning one of life's hardest lessons: sometimes, to move forward, I have to leave people behind. It's not about being callous; it's about recognizing that not everyone is meant to accompany me on my entire journey. Some relationships are seasons, not lifetimes.

As I search for "my people"—those who resonate with my ambitions and understand my drive—I remember that this search is part of the process. I find myself in a sort of existential limbo, outgrowing old social circles but not yet firmly established in new ones.

The resonance I feel with the concept of the "Lonely Stage" is telling. It suggests I'm on a path of significant growth and transformation. This stage is a rite of passage for those aiming to achieve extraordinary things.

But here's the crux: this period of isolation, as difficult as it is, is also incredibly valuable. It's forcing me to develop mental toughness, to trust my own judgment, to persist without external validation. These are the very qualities that will set me apart and contribute to my future success.

I remind myself, as Alex Hormozi puts it, "The only certainty that I can give you is that it's the same thing that every other person who got through that period went through." I'm not alone in feeling alone. This is the untold story of nearly every significant achievement.

As I navigate this stage, I try reframing my hardships as future war stories. Each challenge, each moment of doubt, each small victory in the face of adversity—these are the raw materials of the epic tale I'll one day tell.

My current discomfort is a sign I'm growing, evolving, becoming. I embrace it. I use it. I let it fuel me. Because on the other side of this Lonely Stage lies the person I'm striving to become and the achievements I'm working towards.

In the words of Paul Graham, "The best way to come up with good ideas is to become the sort of person who has them." Right now, in my isolation and struggle, I'm becoming exactly that person.

I'm staying the course. My future self will thank me for it.

Two Quotes

  1. "In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there's something stronger – something better, pushing right back.” - Albert Camus

  2. "Life doesn't get easier or more forgiving; we get stronger and more resilient. The obstacles don't disappear; we become better equipped to handle them. The challenges don't lessen; our ability to overcome them grows." - Unknown

Three Tweets

To Building Fortitude.

 Best Regards,

Colin Jonov, Founder & CEO Athletic Fortitude

Readers Choice: What’s Next?

What do you want to see more of?

Your answers help us provide the best content made for you!

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Spotlight on Our Sponsors: All Black Everything Energy Drink and No Limit Physiques

We are proud to partner with sponsors who share our commitment to a holistic approach in building mentally, physically, and emotionally healthy athletes.

All Black Everything Energy Drink is more than just an energy boost. It's formulated to support athletes in their pursuit of excellence by providing sustained energy, enhanced focus, and improved performance. With a blend of citrulline, beta-alanine, creatine, and caffeine, ABE ensures that you have the stamina and concentration needed to conquer your training sessions and competitions.

No Limit Physiques offers comprehensive coaching that goes beyond physical training. Their expert team focuses on the overall well-being of athletes. From personalized workout plans to nutritional guidance to supplementation to healing peptides, No Limit Physiques ensures that athletes are equipped to handle the demands of their sport and life.