The Fortitude Chronicle: A Weekly Digest of Athletic Determination

The Fortitude Chronicle: A Weekly Digest of Athletic Determination

​Dear Fortitude Family,

Following the positive feedback on my last midweek newsletter, I've decided to make these updates a regular feature.

My mind is always active, filled with thoughts and inspirations. It's challenging for me to switch off. Yet, these reflective moments provide a chance to share my beliefs and values with all of you.

Those of you who know me well are aware of the numerous injuries I've faced throughout my life, both in and out of athletics. The physical pain is evident, but what remains unseen is the emotional toll it takes. Each injury brought along feelings of despair and worthlessness. These same feelings resurface with every new injury.

Just recently, I discovered I need two more knee surgeries, following one I had this past May. The expected recovery is between 9-12 months. Despite consultations with multiple doctors, I hesitated and delayed getting surgery. Facing my reflection, I confronted the real reason I hesitated on the surgery. Was it because I felt as great as I told everyone? Or was I daunted by the thought of the long, demanding recovery and its effect on my mental and physical well-being? It was undeniably the latter. I've endured numerous injuries in the past and am well-acquainted with the grueling path to recovery. Some might wonder, "Why does it matter, Colin, if you're no longer in competitive sports?" However, my passion for physical activity hasn't waned. Whether it's recreational sports leagues or dedicated gym sessions, these activities bring a unique joy to my life. Above all, I aim to symbolize strength reliability and stability for my wife, daughter, and future children. It's vital for me to engage actively with my kids, ensuring they see me as a steadfast anchor in our family. The impending procedure challenges this vision. Yet, I know evading it isn't the solution. Understanding this, confronting my fears became an inescapable truth. Hence, a meeting with the surgeon awaits me next week.

I recognize the journey ahead, with its uncertainties and challenges. Yet, here's what I've come to embrace: Mental Resilience is a perishable skill. Minute by minute you lose it if you are not challenging yourself and pushing the boundaries of what you're capable of. This upcoming challenge serves as another avenue for me to cultivate and reinforce that resilience. Moreover, the specifics of my injury, its uniqueness, and the myriad of unknowns associated with the surgery might daunt many. However, none of that matters to me. I learned long ago that I am not a number. I am not a statistic in someone's medical studies of effectiveness. I am the power of me.

My journey has always been about rising above, evolving stronger than before, and never succumbing. I am unrelenting in spirit. When you harness such resilience and self-belief, the odds always tip in your favor. This isn't just my story; it's a testament that each of us, including you, has the fortitude to not only withstand but to thrive. In adversity, seek the silver lining; it's often brighter than we realize.

Warm regards,

Colin Jonov CEO & Founder, Athletic Fortitude